Tags

We didn’t take any photos at Firesteed, this year. It was our last stop on the way home and light was failing. (Photos posted are from a previous visit.)

Firesteed is one of the vineyards that we usually visit every year. We enjoy their wines and it’s pretty close to home.

The tasting room is open from 11-5 and tours can be arranged by appointment.

This isn’t going to be a long blog post, I just wanted to mention their 2012 Pinot Gris. It’s one of the rare white wines that will cause me to make a purchase. I love the balance in this one. It’s crisp and inviting without being cloyingly sweet. The price is unbelievably low (nice for every day…and 2012 was such a good year for the Willamette Valley, I think the wine makers really had an opportunity to express themselves), at $12 a bottle at the vineyard and $10 at the stores, given how enjoyable is the taste.

Firesteed’s publicity page for this wine lists the tasting notes:
“Expressively aromatic, the wine’s floral and tropical fruit aromas precede flavors of Mandarin orange and Honeydew melon. Mouthwatering and enticing, its bright acidity and broad texture entwine throughout the wine’s lingering finish.” 

I couldn’t say it better myself so I’m not going to try. I like Firesteed’s winemaking philosophy: “Over the years, we have learned to appreciate and work with the forces of nature, adjusting to the changing cycles of the sun and rain and the fertility of the soil in order to create varietals and blends that are wonderful in youth and often become better with every passing year.”

I would encourage a visit. They are small but definitely worth a tasting stop.

