Tags

I have another wine for you today that I think is going to be most excellent. This one I would recommend waiting a few months to try though.  I don’t think it’s quite over its bottle shock, but wow, I have nothing but promising thoughts on its future.

Cameron Hughes Lot 545 Cabernet Sauvignon

This one is out of Coombsville, Meteor Vineyard.  It is a new (and better, IMO) vintage than Lot 451 and we loved Lot 451….so did the critics.  451 received Cameron Hughes’ highest marks yet at a 93 points IIRC.

The grapes from Coombsville in general have been so impressive to me…these wines truly drink like $100-200 bottles.  Just some of the best wine I’ve ever tasted.  Again, I recommend buying and cellaring for at least 6 months.  You won’t regret it.  If you can’t stand (we couldn’t) waiting before you try; at least hold off until Thanksgiving-ish (and decant it for at least 2 hrs).  It, again IMO, has true staying power.  We didn’t buy enough.  I know I’ll regret not owning several cases of this.  And if you watch the video on the CH link, he gives you a very detailed tasting description that we found reliable.  I’ve mentioned before, I’m a fan of his Napa Cabernet.  It’s solely because I feel like I can have luxury wine at daily drinker prices.

With the coupon: drinkup you can get the wine for $23.20 (20% off and free shipping). What a bargain!  (This coupon is for new CH customers only.  An alternate coupon: GLAMOUR will give you $20 off if you are a current customer.)

If you are looking for things ready to drink now, the St. Helena Cab (Lot 432) and the Happy Canyon Cab (Lot 433….we will be featuring this one next week) are both very drinkable right now with a decant.

 

